Wednesday, March 11, 2009

March 8, 2009 journal pages

I LOVE how pink the backof this building is..it's a restaurant on Santa Monica Blvd in West Hollywood.
I'm so happy that this woman image fit the book perfectly. Phew.

Sadly, I was right to be stressed about the doctor's visit. I'll be fine. It'll all work out. I'm just frustrated.

I don't have insurance (Tristan does, though), so that means going to the clinic or other services for treatment. Now, before someone jumps in and says that I should take the money I spend on tape and books and use it towards paying for health care, I'll honestly tell you NO that I can't. I've looked into it. I can't. I don't spend as much as you think and most of what I do spend goes towards class supplies. The money I spend would not be enough, even if I saved and scrimped and went without to pay for insurance. So, don't go giving me some b.s. spiel about health insurance and how I should be able to pay for my own and how everyone who is without health insurance should be able to pay for their own. That we're just lazy and selfish and hoarding our money under our mattresses. Bullshit. I once had a friend who at the time, I didn't realize how much wealth her family had, who was not supporting the grocery store employees in So CA during the strikes (I did. I refused to shop at the stores that were on strike, going elsewhere. I would honk and wave at the strikers. I refuse to cross a picket line. It's how I was brought up. I believe that if people stand together, union or other wise, that things will get done and things will change. It's that belief that brought about the 4o hour work week, paid vacation time, and things like not locking employees in). Any ways, this friend said to me that "She pays for her health insurance, so why shouldn't they?" Well, for starters, the people working at the grocery store don't have husbands who make millions. Not to mention, that health care was included with their benefit package when they started working at the grocery store. WHY should it be taken away because the company refuses to pay any more?

So, long story short, because I don't have health insurance I am forced to go to clinics. I don't have one primary care doctor because I don't have health insurance. I go to the doctors and get treated like I'm an idiot even when I speak up and ask questions, I get shot down and treated like I have no idea what the hell I am talking about. Even the doctor at the clinic tells me I need to go talk to my primary care physician. What part of I don't have health insurance do you not understand? How many people in this country choose between paying the electric bill and buying their medication? How many of us will continue to let this happen? How many of us will continue to pay the outrageous premiums that the health insurance INDUSTRY forces us to pay, before we stand up and say NO MORE.

No comments:

Post a Comment